CLUSTER (Consortium Linking Universities of Science and Technology for Education and Research) is a network of twelve European universities committed to enhancing the quality of science and engineering education and research. The networks ambition is to educate a new generation of engineers with leadership and entrepreneurial skills that can tackle the big societal issues of our time.


The mission of CLUSTER is to: ­

  • Enhance cooperation among members to promote exchange, cooperation and interaction between students, faculty and administrative staff
  • Provide a strategic platform for joint programs within education, research and innovation for its members
  • Develop interaction, cooperation and joint programs with associate members
  • Promote exchange of ideas to support best practice in all aspects of university management and leadership
  • Provide a forum for strategic policy discussions among the leadership of CLUSTER universities
  • Benefit from EU programs within education, research and innovation
  • Become a strategic partner with the European Commission
  • Take a lead in pedagogical development to strengthen the education at the MSc and PhD level for CLUSTER members
  • Build partnerships with major European enterprises
  • Become the first choice for MSc engineering students in and outside Europe


KIT Representatives in the network:

Steering Committee: Vice President Prof. Thomas Hirth, Vice President Prof. Alexander Wanner
Sino-European Engineering Education Platform (SEEEP): Prof. Jürgen Becker, Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV)
Contact Project INGDIVS: Julia Misiewicz, Studium und Lehre Business Unit (SLE)
Contact Project REDEEM: Susanne Kaliwe (INTL)
Working Group Communication: Dr. Klaus Rümmele (INTL)





Member Universities

Associated Members

·   KTH - Royal Institute of Technology

·    Polytechnic University Tomsk (Russland) 

·   Politecnico di Torino

·    Technion (Israel) 

·   K.U.Leuven

·    Tsinghua University (China) 

·   KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

·    University São Paulo (Brazil) 

·   EPFL - Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

·    Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal (Canada)  .

·   Grenoble Institute of Technology

·    Georgia Tech (USA)

·   IST - Instituto Superior Tecnico


·   TCD Trinity College Dublin


·   Aalto University


·   TU Darmstadt


·   TUE Eindhoven University of Technology


·   UCL EPL Ecole Polytechnique de Louvain


·   Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya BarcelonaTech