INTERNATIONAL DAYS

INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 - Celebrating Intercultural Diversity

 

Two days of program on diversity in an international context

The International Days offer an opportunity for anyone interested to get to know more about the international activities at KIT and in its surrounding area. People from various professional and personal backgrounds talk about the experiences with diversity and interculturality and develop new ideas together with the visitors.

In a number of talks and discussion formats, women and men from science, culture, and politics get a chance to speak. Seminars and workshops offer visitors of the International Days opportunities to receive active further education and to learn directly from intercultural competence and antidiscrimination experts.

Another highlight of the event is the exclusive performance night at the Badisches Staatstheater. With the International Days, KIT wants to demonstrate how research, teaching, and innovation benefit from cultural diversity and present people who drive and live diversity.

Logo International Days

Program

A wide range of talks, discussions, and workshops is scheduled to take place in the Senate Hall of the KIT Executive Board (building 11.30). Listed below is further information on the specific events. Information subject to change.

Day 1 - Wednesday, 22 June

12:00 pm - 12:30 pm: Welcome address by Prof. Dr. Thomas Hirth, Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs, KIT, Introduction by Dr. Klaus Rümmele, Head of Business Unit International Affairs, KIT

12:45 pm - 1:30 pm: Talk Prof. Dr. phil. Yasemin Karakaşoğlu: International Diversity in the University Environment - Measures, Strategies, Perspectives

1:45 pm - 2:30 pm: Talk Noomi Arndt & Lisa Jürgens: Anti-discrimination Agency Karlsruhe

The Anti-discrimination Agency Karlsruhe presents itself in a keynote speech and a subsequent round of questions on the topic of discrimination and the General Equal Treatment Act (AGG). It is located at the Stadtjugendausschuss e.V. as part of a private sponsorship which is allowing independent action. The Agency supports people who are being discriminated by offering free advice, also beyond the scope of the AGG. It offers workshops and empowerment services to raise awareness for and empower people in its topics. An elementary part of its work is the cultivation of its extensive network of cooperative partners.

1:45 pm - 2:30 pm: Workshop Ulrike Settelmeyer & Jonas Nees: Cultural Office and Children’s Office Karlsruhe

How Participation Allows to Experience the Strengths of Diversity

The city of Karlsruhe will open participation spaces in several projects to allow the potential of diversity to be experienced and utilized. The Cultural Office and the Children’s Office of the city of Karlsruhe present two different approaches for participation in line with collective and diverse city development. Participants get a chance to reflect on active and passive participation processes.

3:00 pm - 3:45 pm: Award Ceremony DAAD Award and Scholarship with Accompaniment by the German-Ukrainian FächerChor
Once a year, KIT honors particularly committed foreign students with an award by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). This prize is endowed with 1000 euros. Nominations are made for international students who perform extraordinarily well within their studies and additionally show great intercultural commitment to society. The DAAD scholarship is awarded to doctoral students who have shown special academic achievements and, in addition, an outstanding commitment in an international context at KIT.
This year‘s award ceremony will be musically accompanied by the German-Ukrainian FächerChor. This is an integrative project that rehearses in German, Russian, and Ukrainian under the musical direction of Peter Arestov from Karlsruhe, who has roots in Kharkiv. 

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm: Panel discussion (in English) Bridget Breiner, Eleazar Rodriguez, Prof. Dr. Markus Klute, Dr. Farnaz Mahdavian: "Diversity in everyday working life: Chances, tensions, experiences"

8:00 pm - 10:15 pm Ballet performance at Badisches Staatstheater: RUß - A Story of Aschenputtel

Bridget Breiner's first story ballet allows a fresh take on a familiar fairy tale. From the perspective of one of the supposedly evil stepsisters, Bridget Breiner tells the story of Cinderella as a parable about the sometimes arduous path to one's own happiness and freedom. The result is a ballet for young and old, for which she was awarded the German Theater Prize "DER FAUST" in 2013. 

Music by Johann Strauss (son), Woody Guthrie, Nina Simone and others.

CHOREOGRAPHY & INSPECTION Bridget Breiner STAGE & COSTUME Jürgen Kirner LIGHTING Patrick Fuchs DRAMATURGY Anna Grundmeier, Florian König

PROGRAM

Here you will find all important information for the two event days at a glance.

 

 

>>>
Day 2 - Thursday, 23 June

9:00 am - 9:45 am: Talk Judith Blumberg (in English): Doing Diversity - Common Myths and Everyday Challenges of Working as a Diversity Officer

In the last couple of years, a new profession has been gaining in importance: the diversity officer. More and more private companies as well as public institutions like universities and theaters create such a post in reaction to the growing public debate and political demands. But what is behind this job title? How does one become a diversity officer? What does it mean to be working on diversity?

In her talk, Judith Blumberg, agent for diversity at the Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe, touches upon these questions and showcases by means of her own biography, career, and glimpses of her work life that the job of diversity officer is much more than a temporary trend. Following the talk is an opportunity for questions and further conversation.

9:00 am - 9:45 am: Talk Oliver Schmidt & Michael Zacherle: EPICUR – Building a European University in Dialogue with Society
The goal of the European University EPICUR (European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions) is to create an attractive, innovative European university for a new generation of students in Europe. A total of nine universities from the following seven European countries are part of the alliance: Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, the Netherlands and Poland. EPICUR offers novel cooperation opportunities for students and staff from academia and administration and focuses on the complete knowledge quadrilateral of teaching, innovation, research, and interaction with society.

10:00 am - 11:30 am: Panel discussion Dr. Birgid Langer, Dominika Szope, Martin Lenz: „Cross-sectoral diversity: structures, measures, instruments“

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm: Workshop Ines Köhler: Unconscious Bias - Training for employees

Unconscious prejudices influence our daily decision-making. In the course of the INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022, Ines Köhler wants to increase the participants’ awareness for this and show them initial courses of action during her Unconscious Bias Workshop. The goal is to notice, identify, and question one’s own prejudices. Participants learn to reflect on and discuss different possible behaviors, which they can integrate into their daily work life afterwards.

As consultant for diversity and human resources development, Ines Köhler designs concepts for diversity in teaching and is involved in the topic of diversity competence at KIT. She is offering several workshops and trainings on topics like Unconscious Bias, Gender Training, and Diversity-fair Teaching.

2:00 pm - 6:00 pm: 17th Humboldt-Tag

On July 23, the International Days merge directly into the 17th Humboldt-Tag at KIT. Anyone interested has the opportunity to learn more about financial support for researchers from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and can establish first contacts.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation offers international postdocs the opportunity of a financed research stay at KIT and also finances KIT researchers working abroad.

At the Humboldt Day, Prof. Markus Klute (Institute for Theoretical Physics, KIT), contributor to the discovery of the Higgs boson particle and new Humboldt Professor of KIT, will give unique insights into his research in his lecture "Unveiling Nature's Secrets - The Future of Particle Physics". In addition, several Humboldt scholars and laureates will present their current research projects in Humboldt lightning talks.

Speakers & Exhibitors

Speakers
Moderation

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha studied sociology, philosophy, and history in Heidelberg and Karlsruhe. Born in Scotland, she obtained a Doctor of Philosophy with a dissertation on the topic of ethnic identity and political mobilization, before writing her habilitation thesis at the University of Karlsruhe (TH) on the dialectic of globalization. She was managing director of the Interfakultatives Institut für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft (interfacultative institute for applied cultural studies) at the University of Karlsruhe and then, after 2002, founding Director of the successor institution, the Center for Cultural and General Studies (ZAK) at KIT, which she headed for almost 20 years. Her main areas of research are cultural change and globalization, multiculturalism and integration policies as well as the theory and practice of public science.  

During the INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022, she will moderate the panel discussion on the topic of “Diversity in everyday working life: Chances, tensions, experiences”. 

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
Jens Rudat Jens Rudat

Priv-Doz. Dr. Jens Rudat, born in 1975, completed his biology studies at Universität Bonn, directly followed by his doctorate in microbiology in 2000, for which he received a scholarship from the graduate funding program of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia. Jens Rudat has been working at KIT for more than fifteen years. He was group leader for Biocatalysis at the Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences BLT-2 - Technical Biology from 2006 onwards, before being appointed as a temporary academic councilor in 2012. Since 2022, he has been a private lecturer with a venia legendi for the subject of technical biology. His research focus is on molecular biology and process optimization of enzyme reactions, being part of international research collaborations with China, South Africa, and Iran.

Born in 1965, Dr. Klaus Rümmele studied German and English Literature and Politics at Albert Ludwigs University in Freiburg and University of Ulster at Coleraine/Northern Ireland. He worked as a journalist, before he did Public Relations at University Karlsruhe, which later merged with the National Research Center Karlsruhe to Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). In 2011, he did his PhD in Literature at KIT. Since February 2019, he is Head of the International Affairs Business Unit at KIT.

At the INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022, he will moderate the panel discussion on the second day of the event on the topic of "Cross-sectoral diversity: structures, measures, instruments" with panel participants Dr. Birgid Langer, Dominika Szope, and Martin Lenz.

Dr. Klaus Rümmele
Exhibitors

Spread about the Ehrenhof location, different KIT groups representing interculturality and diversity in their composition and activity will present themselves and invite to information, help, and discussion at their stands.

Popice 

A culinary delicacy will be offered by Popice, an ice cream manufacturer from Karlsruhe. On the first day of the event, Popice will be providing guests at the INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 with regional coffees and handmade popsicles. 

Popice stands for a tasty and healthier alternative to conventional ice cream. The ice cream manufactory relies on seasonal fruits in its production to achieve optimal taste without using any flavor enhancers, preservatives, and colorants. "Real fruits, real taste" is its motto.


Registration

You can register for the individual events until June 21, 2022. Simply state your email address and choose a password.

>>> (Free) registration <<<

We invite you to send us any questions or feedback at intdays∂intl.kit.edu

INTERNATIONAL DAYS

INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 - Celebrating Intercultural Diversity

 

Zwei Tage Programm rund um Diversität im internationalen Kontext

Die International Days bieten allen, die interessiert sind, die Möglichkeit, mehr über die internationalen Aktivitäten am KIT und in dessen Umgebung zu erfahren. Menschen mit den unterschiedlichsten fachlichen und persönlichen Hintergründen sprechen über ihre Erlebnisse mit Diversität und Interkulturalität und entwickeln mit den Besucherinnen und Besuchern neue Ideen. 

In verschiedenen Vorträgen und Diskussionsformaten melden sich Frauen und Männer aus Wissenschaft, Kultur und Politik zu Wort. Seminare und Workshops bieten den Gästen der International Days die Möglichkeit, sich ganz aktiv weiterzubilden und direkt von Expertinnen und Experten für Interkulturelle Kompetenz und Anti-Diskriminierung zu lernen.  

Ein weiteres Highlight der Veranstaltung stellt die exklusive Abendaufführung am Badischen Staatstheater dar. 

Mit den International Days demonstriert das KIT, welche Bereicherung Forschung, Lehre und Innovation erst durch eine interkulturelle Vielfalt erfahren, und präsentiert Menschen, die Diversität leben und vorantreiben. 

 

Logo International Days

Programm

Auf dem Programm stehen zahlreiche Vorträge, Diskussionen und Workshops, die im Senatssaal des KIT-Präsidiums (Geb. 11.30) stattfinden werden. Genauere Informationen zu einzelnen Programmpunkten und Uhrzeiten folgen. Änderungen sind vorbehalten.

Tag 1 - Mittwoch, 22. Juni

12:00 - 12:30 Uhr: Begrüßung durch Prof. Dr. Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Transfer und Internationales, KIT, und Dr. Klaus Rümmele, Leiter der Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales, KIT

12:45 - 13:30 Uhr: Vortrag Prof. Dr. phil. Yasemin Karakaşoğlu: Internationale Diversität im universitären Umfeld - Maßnahmen, Strategien, Perspektiven

13:45 - 14:30 Uhr: Vortrag Noomi Arndt & Lisa Jürgens: Antidiskriminierungsstelle Karlsruhe

In einem Impulsvortrag mit anschließender Fragerunde zum Thema Diskriminierung und Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) stellt sich die Antidiskriminierungsstelle Karlsruhe vor. Angesiedelt beim Stadtjugendausschuss e.V. ist sie Teil einer freien Trägerschaft, wodurch unabhängiges Handeln ermöglicht wird. In kostenlosen Beratungsangeboten, auch über die AGG-Merkmale hinaus, unterstützt sie Menschen, die Diskriminierung erfahren. Daneben organisiert die Antidiskriminierungsstelle Workshops und Empowerment-Angebote, um Menschen für ihre Themen zu sensibilisieren und darin zu stärken. Elementar für ihre Arbeit ist auch die Pflege eines breiten Netzwerks an Kooperationspartnerinnen und -partnern.

13:45 - 14:30 Uhr: Workshop Ulrike Settelmeyer & Jonas Nees: Kulturbüro und Kinderbüro Karlsruhe

Wie Partizipation die Stärken von Vielfalt erlebbar macht

Die Stadt Karlsruhe öffnet in verschiedenen Projekten Partizipationsräume, um die Potenziale von Vielfalt erlebbar und nutzbar zu machen. Das Kulturbüro und das Kinderbüro der Stadt Karlsruhe stellen zwei verschiedene Ansätze der Partizipation im Sinne einer gemeinsamen und vielfältigen Stadtentwicklung vor. Die Teilnehmenden erhalten Gelegenheit zur Reflexion über aktive und passive Partizipationsprozesse.

15:00 - 15:45 Uhr: Preisverleihung DAAD-Preis und Stipendium ​​für außergewöhnliches Engagement von Studierenden und Doktoranden

16:00 - 17:30 Uhr: Keynote Bridget Breiner: Interkulturalität und Diversität in der künstlerischen Arbeit & Podiumsdiskussion mit Eleazar Rodriguez, Prof. Dr. Günter Quast, Dr. Farnaz Mahdavian zum Thema "Diversität im Arbeitsalltag: Chancen, Spannungen, Erfahrungen"

20:00 - 22:15 Uhr: Ballettaufführung am Badischen Staatstheater: PER ASPERA AD ASTRA 

„Durchs Dunkel ans Licht“, so die lateinische Redewendung, die für das Streben nach Höherem steht. Unter diesem Motto präsentiert das STAATSBALLETT ein in Tanz gegossenes Sinfoniekonzertprogramm der Extraklasse. Artist in Residence, Kevin O’Day, lässt sich für sein Eröffnungsstück Unfolding von Bachs Meisterwerken inspirieren. Glen Tetleys wegweisende Choreografie Voluntaries zu Poulencs Orgelkonzert und Bridget Breiners Blessed Unrest zu Saint-Saëns Orgelsinfonie lassen Musik und Körper miteinander verschmelzen. 

MUSIKALISCHE LEITUNG Dominic Limburg CHOREOGRAFIE Kevin O’Day, Glen Tetley, Bridget Breiner BÜHNE & KOSTÜME Kevin O’Day, Elisabeth Richter, Rouben Ter-Arutunian, Jean-Marc Puissant 

LICHT Ingo Jooß, John B. Read, Bonnie Beecher DRAMATURGIE Florian König 

BADISCHE STAATSKAPELLE

 

Save the Date

Jetzt das Datum vormerken! In Kürze erhalten Sie hier das ganze Programmheft.

>>>
Tag 2 - Donnerstag, 23. Juni

9:00 - 9:45 Uhr: Vortrag Judith Blumberg: Doing Diversity - Common Myths and Everyday Challenges of Working as a Diversity Officer

In den vergangenen Jahren hat ein neues Berufsbild zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen: das der Diversitätsbeauftragten. Immer mehr privatwirtschaftliche Unternehmen, aber auch öffentliche Institutionen – wie Universitäten oder Theater – leisten sich solche Stellen und reagieren damit auf öffentliche Diskurse, die sichtbarer, und politische Forderungen, die lauter geworden sind. Doch was verbirgt sich überhaupt hinter dieser Stellenbezeichnung? Wie wird man ein*e Diversitätsbeauftragte*r? Und was bedeutet es, an Diversität zu arbeiten? 

In ihrem Vortrag greift Judith Blumberg, Agentin für Diversität am Badischen Staatstheater Karlsruhe, diese Fragen auf und veranschaulicht anhand von ihrer eigenen Biografie, von ihrem beruflichen Werdegang und von Einblicken in ihren Arbeitsalltag, dass sich hinter dem Beruf von Diversitätsbeauftragten weitaus mehr als eine Modeerscheinung verbirgt. Im Anschluss an den Vortrag gibt es die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen. 

9:00 - 9:45 Uhr: Vortrag Oliver Schmidt & Michael Zacherle EPICUR – Der Aufbau einer Europäischen Universität im Dialog mit der Gesellschaft
Ziel der europäischen Universität EPICUR (European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions) ist es, eine attraktive, innovative europäische Universität für eine neue Generation von Studierenden in Europa zu schaffen. Insgesamt sind neun Hochschulen aus den folgenden sieben europäischen Ländern Teil der Allianz: Dänemark, Deutschland, Frankreich, Griechenland, die Niederlande, Österreich und Polen. EPICUR bietet neuartige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten für Studierende und Mitarbeitende aus Wissenschaft und Verwaltung und nimmt das komplette Wissensviereck aus Lehre, Innovation, Forschung, und Interaktion mit der Gesellschaft in den Fokus.

10:00 - 11:30 Uhr: Podiumsdiskussion Dr. Birgid Langer, Dominika Szope, Martin Lenz: „Sektorenübergreifende Diversität: Strukturen, Maßnahmen, Instrumente“

13:00 - 14:00 Uhr: Workshop Ines Köhler: Unconscious Bias - Training für Mitarbeitende

Unbewusste Vorurteile wirken sich auf unsere täglichen Entscheidungen aus. Im Rahmen der INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 möchte Ines Köhler mit einem Unconscious Bias Workshop Teilnehmende dafür sensibilisieren sowie erste Handlungsoptionen aufzeigen. Das Ziel ist, die eigenen Vorurteile wahrzunehmen, zu identifizieren und zu hinterfragen. Die Teilnehmenden sollen in der Lage sein, verschiedene Verhaltensmöglichkeiten reflektiert zu diskutieren, um diese anschließend in ihre tägliche Arbeit integrieren zu können. 

14:00 - 18:00 Uhr: 17. Humboldt-Tag

Am 23. Juni gehen die INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 direkt in den 17. Humboldt-Tag am KIT über. Interessierte haben hier die Gelegenheit, mehr über die Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für Forschende seitens der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung zu erfahren und erste Kontakte zu knüpfen. 

Die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung bietet zum einen internationalen Postdocs die Möglichkeit einer Finanzierung für einen Forschungsaufenthalt am KIT und finanziert zum anderen Forschenden des KIT Forschungsaufenthalte im Ausland.  

Beim Humboldt-Tag wird unter anderem Prof. Markus Klute (Institute for Theoretical Physics, KIT) als neuer Humboldt-Professor des KIT bei einem Vortrag einzigartige Einblicke in seine Forschung geben. Auch verschiedene Humboldt-Stipendiatinnen und -Stipendiaten sowie -Preisträgerinnen und -Preisträger am KIT präsentieren bei den anschließenden Humboldt-Lightning-Talks ihre aktuellen Forschungsprojekte.

Speakers & Exhibitors

Referentinnen & Referenten
Moderation

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha studierte Soziologie, Philosophie und Geschichte in Heidelberg und Karlsruhe. Die gebürtige Schottin promovierte mit ihrer Arbeit zu Ethnischer Identität und politischer Mobilisation zum Doktor der Philosophie und verfasste später an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) ihre Habilitationsschrift zum Thema Dialektik der Globalisierung. Zunächst als Geschäftsführerin des Interfakultativen Instituts für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft der Universität Karlsruhe tätig, leitete sie ab 2002 fast zwanzig Jahre lang als Gründungsdirektorin dessen Nachfolgeinstitution, das Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale (ZAK) am KIT. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Kulturwandel und Globalisierung, Multikulturalität und Integrationspolitik sowie Theorie und Praxis der Öffentlichen Wissenschaft.  

An den INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 moderiert sie die Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema “Diversität im Arbeitsalltag: Chancen, Spannungen, Erfahrungen”. 

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
Jens Rudat Jens Rudat

Jens Rudat, geboren 1975, absolvierte an der Universität Bonn sein Biologiestudium, woran er im Jahr 2000 seine Promotion im Fach Mikrobiologie direkt anknüpfte, für die er ein Stipendium der Graduiertenförderung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen erhalten hatte. Am KIT tätig ist Jens Rudat bereits seit über fünfzehn Jahren, war dort ab 2006 Gruppenleiter für Biokatalyse im BLT-2: Technische Biologie, bevor 2012 die Ernennung zum Akademischen Rat auf Zeit erfolgte. Seit 2022 ist er Privatdozent mit einer venia legendi für das Fach „Technische Biologie“. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der molekularbiologischen und verfahrenstechnischen Optimierung von Enzymreaktionen und ist dabei Teil von internationalen Forschungskooperationen mit China, Südafrika und dem Iran. 

Dr. Klaus Rümmele, geboren 1965, studierte Germanistik, Anglistik und Politik an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität in Freiburg und der University of Ulster in Coleraine/Nordirland. Er arbeitete als Journalist, bevor er in die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit an der Universität Karlsruhe ging, die später mit dem Nationalen Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe zum Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) fusionierte. 2011 promovierte er im Bereich Literaturwissenschaften am KIT. Seit Februar 2019 ist er Leiter des Geschäftsfelds Internationales am KIT.

An den INTERNATIONAL DAYS moderiert er die Podiumsdiskussion am zweiten Veranstaltungstag zum Thema "Sektorenübergreifende Diversität: Strukturen, Maßnahmen, Instrumente" mit den Panel-Teilnehmenden Dr. Birgid Langer, Dominika Szope und Martin Lenz.

Dr. Klaus Rümmele
Ausstellerinnen & Aussteller

Über den Ehrenhof verteilt stellen sich verschiedene Gruppen des KIT vor, die in ihrer Zusammensetzung und ihrer Tätigkeit Interkulturalität und Diversität verkörpern. An ihren Ständen laden sie zur Information, Hilfestellung und Diskussion ein.

Popice 

Eine kulinarische Bereicherung liefert die Eis-Manufaktur Popice aus Karlsruhe. Sie versorgt die Gäste der INTERNATIONAL DAYS 2022 am ersten Veranstaltungstag mit handgemachtem Eis am Stiel und regionalem Kaffee.  

Popice steht für eine leckere und gesündere Alternative zu herkömmlichen Eis. Die Eis-Manufaktur setzt bei der Herstellung auf saisonale Früchte, um den optimalen Geschmack zu erzielen. Es wird vollkommen auf Geschmacksverstärker, Konservierungsstoffe und Farbstoffe verzichtet. Das Motto lautet: „real fruits, real taste“ 


Anmeldung

Sie können sich bis zum 21. Juni 2022 für die einzelnen Programmpunkte anmelden. Dazu müssen Sie nur Ihre E-Mail-Adresse und ein selbstgewähltes Passwort angeben.

>>> Zur (kostenlosen) Anmeldung <<<

Bei Fragen und Anmerkungen wenden Sie sich gerne an intdays∂intl.kit.edu