EPICUR Research

Inter- and transdisciplinary research in three core areas of current societal challenges is the goal of EPICUR-Research. Funded by Horizon 2020 of the European Commission, the project started in January 2021 with a three-year duration. Located in the program line "Science with and for Society" (SwafS), EPICUR-Research is primarily aimed at researchers who are at the beginning of their scientific career and are interested in shaping a common research agenda for our eight partner universities.

Joint research agenda with inter- and transdisciplinary approaches

In research, an analysis of the research strengths of each EPICUR university will help identify and exploit potential synergies. This will help to identify new joint research fields that will make important contributions to overcoming major societal challenges. Special attention will be paid to the sustainability transition against the background of the European Green Deal and the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations, to high-quality healthcare for the European population, as well as to disruptive technologies and the handling of digitalization. These topics will be addressed and worked on as focal points of future joint research in three interdisciplinary EPIChallenges: Sustainability (incl. climate change and energy); Mobility, Migration and Identity; Public Health.

 

EPICUR Pathway to Research

EPICamp | EPICradle | EPICluster

The EPICUR Pathway to Research is a three-step program developed by EPICUR Research to support young scientists in their innovative, inter- and/or transdisciplinary research. It aims to transform the regional academic communities of EPICUR partner universities into a collaborative bottom-up network that empowers young scientists in their scientific work. By initiating new processes and building new networks for researchers at different career stages, EPICUR will form a new research community that crosses disciplinary and national boundaries.

All information can be found on the official website here.

 

EPICamps

EPICamps (virtual events) offer early career researchers the opportunity to present their research, interests, and ideas, as well as meet like-minded people who complement and extend their work. To foster diverse exchanges, EPICamps - in addition to thematic sessions - will also provide space for researchers and non-university partners to exchange ideas on issues of methodology, tools, ethical issues and data management, didactics, science communication, and other aspects of academic work.

EPICUR aims to foster the formation of research groups across disciplines and national boundaries that address one of the three EPIChallenges. Under the umbrella of these EPIChallenges, EPICUR will host six EPICamps in 2021/2022, each focusing on different aspects of these broad themes.

 

EPICamp VI Coming soon

EPICamp V "Sustainable Cities and Regional Change" organized by the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences (BOKU) Vienna, on 31 March/01 April, 2022.

EPICamp IV "Hydrosphere" organized by the University of Freiburg and the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (BOKU) Vienna, on March 23/24, 2022.

EPICamp III "Collective Identities" organized by the University of Haute-Alsace, on Feb 25/26, 2022.

EPICamp II "Sustainability, Resources and Climate Justice" organized by the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences (BOKU) Vienna, on Dec. 2-3, 2021

EPICamp I "Mobility, Migration and Multilingualism" organized by the University of Freiburg, on October 15-16, 2021.

 

EPICradle

Application phase open until April 15, 2022

From March 15 to April 15, 2022, groups of up to five Early Career Researchers (ECRs) - from PhD students to junior professors - have the opportunity to apply for the first EPICradle, which will take place for three months in the period June - September 2022. EPICradles offer ECRs from our eight EPICUR partner universities the opportunity to:

  • acquire new research skills and competences, especially in the field of inter- and transdisciplinary collaboration in a European context,
  • receive information about funding programs
  • establish contacts with other ECRs and to develop joint projects.

All information about the application and selection process can be found on the EPICUR website.

 

EPIClusters

Coming soon

EPICUR Research

Inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschung in drei Kernbereichen aktueller gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen ist das Ziel von EPICUR-Research. Von Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Kommission gefördert, startete das Projekt im Januar 2021 mit einer dreijährigen Laufzeit. In der Programmlinie “Science with and for Society” (SwafS) angesiedelt, richtet sich EPICUR-Research primär an Forschende, die am Anfang ihrer wissenschaftlichen Karriere stehen und Interesse haben, eine gemeinsame Forschungsagenda für unsere acht Partneruniversitäten zu gestalten.

Gemeinsame Forschungsagenda mit inter- and transdisziplinären Ansätzen

In der Forschung wird eine Analyse der Forschungsstärken der einzelnen EPICUR Universitäten dabei helfen, potenzielle Synergien zu identifizieren und zu nutzen. Dadurch werden neue gemeinsame Forschungsfelder identifiziert, welche zur Überwindung der großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen wichtige Beiträge leisten sollen. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei der Nachhaltigkeitswende vor dem Hintergrund des europäischen Green Deal und der Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen, auf einer qualitativ hochwertige Gesundheitsversorgung der europäischen Bevölkerung sowie auf disruptiven Technologien und dem Umgang mit der Digitalisierung. Diese Themenfelder werden als Schwerpunkte zukünftiger gemeinsamer Forschung in drei interdisziplinären EPIChallenges: Nachhaltigkeit (inkl. Klimawandel und Energie); Mobilität, Migration und Identität; Öffentliche Gesundheit adressiert und bearbeitet.

EPICUR Pathway to Research

EPICamp | EPICradle | EPICluster

Der EPICUR Pathway to Research oder Forschungspfad ist ein dreistufiges Programm, das von EPICUR Research entwickelt wurde, um junge Wissenschaftler*innen in ihrer innovativen, inter- und/oder transdisziplinären Forschung zu unterstützen. Es zielt darauf ab, die regionalen akademischen Gemeinschaften der EPICUR-Partneruniversitäten in ein kollaboratives Bottom-up-Netzwerk umzuwandeln, das Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen in ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit stärkt. Durch die Initiierung neuer Prozesse und den Aufbau neuer Netzwerke für Forscher*innen auf unterschiedlichen Karrierestufen wird EPICUR eine neue Forschungsgemeinschaft bilden, die disziplinäre und nationale Grenzen überschreitet.

Alle Informationen befinden sich auf der offiziellen Webseite hier.

 

EPICamps

EPICamps (virtuelle Veranstaltungen) bieten Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihre Forschung, ihre Interessen und ihre Ideen zu präsentieren sowie Gleichgesinnte zu treffen, die ihre Arbeit ergänzen und erweitern. Um den vielfältigen Austausch zu fördern, werden die EPICamps - zusätzlich zu den thematischen Sitzungen - auch Raum für Forscher*innen und außeruniversitäre Partner*innen bieten, um sich über Fragen der Methodik, der Werkzeuge, ethischer Fragen und des Datenmanagements, der Didaktik, der Wissenschaftskommunikation und anderer Aspekte der akademischen Arbeit auszutauschen.

EPICUR will die Bildung von Forschungsgruppen über Disziplinen und nationale Grenzen hinweg fördern, die sich mit einer der drei EPIChallenges befassen. Unter dem Dach dieser EPIChallenges wird EPICUR im Zeitraum 2021/2022 sechs EPICamps veranstalten, die sich jeweils auf verschiedene Aspekte dieser weit gefassten Themen konzentrieren.

EPICamp VI Coming soon

EPICamp V „Nachhaltige Städte und regionaler Wandel“ organisiert von der Universität für Bodenkultur (BOKU) Wien, am 31. März/01. April, 2022

EPICamp IV „Hydrosphäre“ organisiert von der Universität Freiburg und der Universität für Bodenkultur (BOKU) Wien, am 23./24. März, 2022

EPICamp III „Kollektive Identitäten“ organisiert von der Universität Haute-Alsace, am 25./26. Feburar 2022

EPICamp II „Nachhaltigkeit, Ressourcen und Klimagerechtigkeit“ organisiert von der Universität für Bodenkultur (BOKU) Wien, am 2./3. Dezember 2021

EPICamp I „Mobilität, Migration und Multilingualismus“ organisiert von der Universität Freiburg, am 15./16. Oktober 2021

 

EPICradle

Bewerbungsphase bis zum 15. April 2022 offen

Vom 15. März bis zum 15. April 2022 haben Gruppen von bis zu fünf Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen (Early Career Researchers, ECRs) – von Promovierenden bis Juniorprofessor:innen – die Möglichkeit, sich für das erste EPICradle zu bewerben, welches für drei Monate im Zeitraum von Juni – September 2022 stattfindet. EPICradles bieten ECRs von unseren acht EPICUR-Partneruniversitäten die Möglichkeit:

  • neue Forschungsfähigkeiten und –kompetenzen zu erwerben, insbesondere im Bereich der inter- und transdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit in einem europäischen Kontext,
  • Informationen über Förderprogramme zu erhalten,
  • Kontakte zu ECRs zu knüpfen und gemeinsame Projekte zu entwickeln

Alle Informationen zum Bewerbungs – und Auswahlverfahren finden Sie auf dem EPICUR Webseite. 

 

EPIClusters

Coming soon