deutsch  | Home | Legals | KIT

A Party for the Whole World

Christmas is a holiday for the whole family. At KIT, it is big and international: in December, more than 130 students and employees from all over the world met for a "Christmas Party" at the International Students Office (IStO) and the International Scholars and Welcome Office (IScO).

Participants of the seminar series "Welcome to Karlsruhe" organized the international get-together in Advent. The students made Christmas decorations and decorated a tree, designed an event poster and prepared a gift lottery, set up a buffet with Christmas cookies and distributed nameplates.

Employees from the IStO and other departments of KIT International Affairs (INTL) supported them, as did Theresa Lösch and Annika Müller, who are completing their training as media designers at KIT.

"We wanted to make a cultural exchange possible between foreign and German students, guest scientists and KIT staff," says Annette Seiter, head of the seminar series. And that succeeded: The party guests talked, sang together to the live music of a small INTL band, were happy about the appearance of a student in the costume of St. Nicholas and applauded Vice President Thomas Hirth, who welcomed them warmly.

Again and again, students sat down at the piano and spontaneously made music - like Farima, an Iranian student. "At my home, we're celebrating the New Year," she says. And then, she played a song from her homeland. Christmas is also a celebration of diversity.

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

Eine Party für die ganze Welt

Weihnachten ist ein Fest für die ganze Familie. Am KIT ist sie groß und international: Im Dezember trafen sich mehr als 130 Studierende und Beschäftigte aus aller Welt zu einer „Christmas Party“ beim International Students Office (IStO) und beim International Scholars and Welcome Office (IScO).

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Seminarreihe „Willkommen in Karlsruhe“ organisierten das internationale Get-together im Advent. Die Studierenden bastelten Weihnachtsdekoration und schmückten einen Baum, entwarfen ein Veranstaltungsplakat und bereiteten eine Geschenkelotterie vor, bauten ein Büffet mit Weihnachtsgebäck auf und verteilten Namenschilder.

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus dem IStO und anderen Abteilungen der Dienstleistungseinheit (DE) Internationales (INTL) unterstützten sie dabei ebenso wie Theresa Lösch und Annika Müller, die am KIT eine Ausbildung als Mediengestalterinnen absolvieren.

„Wir wollten mit einer Feier den kulturellen Austausch möglich machen zwischen ausländischen und deutschen Studierenden, Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern und KIT-Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern“, sagt Annette Seiter, die Leiterin der Seminarreihe. Und das gelang: Die Partygäste unterhielten sich, sangen gemeinsam zur Live-Musik einer kleinen INTL-Band, freuten sich über den Auftritt eines Studenten im Nikolauskostüm und applaudierten Vizepräsident Thomas Hirth, der sie herzlich begrüßte.

Immer wieder setzten sich Studierende an den Flügel und musizierten spontan – so wie Farima, eine iranische Studentin. „Bei mir zu Hause feiern wir vor allem das Neujahrsfest“, erzählt sie. Und spielt ein Lied aus ihrer Heimat. Weihnachten ist auch ein Fest der Vielfalt.