International Affairs

IECO - Institute of Eco-Industrial Development

KIT establishes Virtual Institute for Eco-Industrial Development with Universities in Chile

KIT is establishing a virtual institute for eco-industrial development, the Institute of Eco-Industrial Development- IECO, with three Chilean cooperation partners. The project initiated by KIT with its partner universities Universidad de Chile (UCh) in Santiago de Chile, Universidad de Concepción (UdeC) in Concepción, and Universidad Austral de Chile (UACh) in Valdivia has been funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) with almost 900,000 Euros since November 2017.

IECO is a network project that designs and builds a research structure around the topic of industrial ecology in Chile. As a binational and multilateral institute, IECO will conduct interdisciplinary research on the topic of industrial ecology, i.e. improving the sustainability of industry by imitating ecosystem principles. The goal is to develop strategies for sustainable industrial regional development in Chile that also include urban areas. IECO is based on three action fields: (1) science and research, (2) higher education, and (3) innovation and technology transfer.

IECO promotes, supports and clusters the research projects of KIT actors with their Chilean counterparts of the three universities. Five topics on industrial ecology have been selected:

T1 - Sustainable use of water and energy in an urban context;

T2 - Sustainable material and energetic use of biomass;

T3 - Eco-industrial use of subsoil resources;

T4 - Urban eco-industrial development in South America;

T5 - Land use and industrial sustainability.

In all Topics, researchers collaborate in an interdisciplinary, inter-institutional and international way and activities take place in all three IECO action fields.

 

More information can be found on the IECO project website.

IECO is coordinated by Prof. Dr. Andreas Braun and Dr. Gabriela Espinosa (Institute of Regional Science, IfR). International Affairs supports the project, which is also accompanied by Prof. Thomas Hirth from a strategic point of view. Contact persons at International Affairs are Irma Mantilla and Pascale Kohler.

The IECO network is constantly expanding. Interested KIT researchers can contact the IECO team by e-mail for further information..
Financial support is provided, for example, for initiation workshops for the development of new German-Chilean research projects.

Logo Universidad de Chile Universidad de Chile
Universidad de Chile
Logo Universidad de Conception Universidad de Concepción
Universidad de Concepción
Logo Universidad Austral de Chile Universidad Austral de Chile
Universidad Austral de Chile

Internationales

IECO - Institute of Eco-Industrial Development

KIT baut mit Universitäten in Chile ein virtuelles Institut für öko-industrielle Entwicklung auf

Das KIT baut mit drei chilenischen Kooperationspartnern ein virtuelles Institut für öko-industrielle Entwicklung, das Institute of Eco-Industrial Development- IECO, auf. Das Projekt, dass das KIT mit seinen Partneruniversitäten Universidad de Chile (UCh) in Santiago de Chile, Universidad de Concepción (UdeC) und Universidad Austral de Chile (UACh) in Valdivia initiiert hat, wird seit November 2017 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit knapp 900.000 Euro gefördert.

Bei IECO handlet es sich um ein Netzwerk-Projekt, das eine Forschungsstruktur um das Thema industrielle Ökologie in Chile konzipiert und aufbaut. IECO soll als binationales und multilaterales Institut interdisziplinär zum Thema industrielle Ökologie, das heißt die Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit der Industrie durch Imitierung von Ökosystemprinzipien forschen. Ziel ist es, für Chile Strategien einer zur nachhaltigen industriellen Regionalentwicklung zu erarbeiten, die auch den urbanen Raum miteinbeziehen. IECO basiert auf drei Handlungsfeldern: (1) Wissenschaft und Forschung, (2) Hochschulbildung sowie (3) Innovation und Technologietransfer.

IECO fördert, unterstützt und bündelt die Anbahnung von Forschungsvorhaben der KIT-Akteure mit ihren chilenischen Counterparts der drei Universitäten. Es wurden vier Themenschwerpunkte (Topic) zur industriellen Ökologie gewählt:

T1 - Nachhaltige Nutzung von Wasser und Energie im urbanen Kontext;

T2 - Nachhaltige Umwandlung von Energie und Materialien aus Biomasse;

T3 - Ökoindustrielle Nutzung von Bodenschätzen;

T4 - Urbane Ökoindustrielle Entwicklung in Südamerika.

In allen Topics arbeiten die Forschenden interdisziplinär, interinstitutionell und international zusammen und es finden Aktivitäten in allen drei Handlungsfeldern von IECO statt.

 

Nähere Informationen finden sich auf der IECO-Projektseite.

IECO wird koordiniert von Prof. Dr. Andreas Braun und Dr. Gabriela Espinosa (Institut für Regionalwissenschaft, IfR). Die DE Internationales unterstützt das Projekt, das unter strategischen Gesichtspunkten auch von Prof. Thomas Hirth begleitet wird. Ansprechpartnerinnen bei der DE INTL sind Irma Mantilla und Pascale Kohler.

Das IECO-Netzwerk erweitert sich ständig. KIT Forschende können sich bei Interesse per E-Mail an das IECO-Team wenden.
Finanziell gefördert werden beispielsweise Anbahnungsworkshops zur Formulierung von neuen deutsch-chilenischen Forschungsprojekten.