deutsch  | Home | Legals | KIT

German-Russian research group at KIT receives three-year funding

Helmholtz - RSF
Helmholtz Association - RSF

The Helmholtz Association and the Russian Science Foundation (RSF) have selected the first six joint research groups for their "Helmholtz-RSF Joint Research Groups" program. Among them is the Karlsruhe-Russian Astroparticle Data Life Cycle Initiative, which is coordinated by Dr. Andreas Haungs of KIT.

In astroparticle physics, scientists have to be able to exchange their highly detailed observations with one another in order to investigate and better understand complex processes in the universe. The aim of the Karlsruhe-Russian Astroparticle Data Life Cycle Initiative is to make a wide range of data of high-energy cosmic radiation available to the public. The participating researchers at Lomonossov University Moscow and KIT will build a joint data portal of two independent observatories for this purpose. Contact at KIT is Andreas Haungs, spokesman for the "Matter and the Universe" program at KIT.

The "Helmholtz-RSF Joint Research Groups" are based on a partnership between the Helmholtz Association and the Russian Science Foundation. One focus of the joint research groups is the promotion of young scientists in both countries. For a term of three years, the groups receive a subsidy of up to 130,000 euros per year from the impulse and networking fund of the Helmholtz Association and a subsidy amount of the same amount from RSF.

The first of a total of three tendering sessions took place in the two areas "Biomedicine" and "Information and Data Science" (press release). Three rounds are planned. Six bilateral projects are selected. The application deadline for the second round of tenders will end on 30 November 2017 and cover the two topics "Climate Research" and "Energy Storage and Grid Integration". The last call for tender in 2019 is to cover the topics "Materials and Emerging Technologies" as well as "Structure and Dynamics of Matter".

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

Deutsch-russische Forschergruppe am KIT erhält dreijährige Förderung

Helmholtz - RSF
Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft - RSF

Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und die Russian Science Foundation (RSF) haben für ihr Förderprogramm „Helmholtz-RSF Joint Research Groups“ die ersten sechs gemeinsamen Forschergruppen ausgewählt. Unter ihnen ist die Karlsruhe-Russian Astroparticle Data Life Cycle Initiative, die Dr. Andreas Haungs am KIT koordiniert.

In der Astroteilchenphysik müssen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ihre hochdetaillierten Beobachtungen untereinander austauschen können, um komplexe Prozesse im Universum zu untersuchen und besser zu verstehen. Ziel der Karlsruhe-Russian Astroparticle Data Life Cycle Initiative ist es, ein breites Spektrum an Daten hochenergetischer kosmischer Strahlung öffentlich zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die beteiligten Forscherinnen und Forscher an der Lomonossov-Universität Moskau und am KIT werden zu diesem Zweck ein gemeinsames Datenportal zweier unabhängiger Observatorien aufbauen. Ansprechpartner am KIT ist Andreas Haungs, Sprecher des Programms „Matter and the Universe“ am KIT.

Die „Helmholtz-RSF Joint Research Groups“ bauen auf einer Partnerschaft der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und der Russian Science Foundation auf. Ein Schwerpunkt der gemeinsamen Forschungsgruppen liegt auf der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in beiden Ländern. Für eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren erhalten die Gruppen jeweils eine Förderung von bis zu 130.000 Euro pro Jahr aus dem Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft sowie einen Förderbetrag in gleicher Höhe von RSF.

Die erste von insgesamt drei Ausschreibungsrunden erfolgte auf den beiden Gebieten „Biomedicine“ und „Information and Data Science“ (Pressemitteilung). Drei Runden sind geplant. Darin werden jeweils sechs bilaterale Projekte ausgewählt. Die Bewerbungsfrist für die zweite Ausschreibungsrunde endet am 30. November 2017 und umfasst die beiden Themengebiete „Climate Research“ sowie „Energy Storage and Grid Integration“. Die letzte Ausschreibung im Jahr 2019 soll schließlich die Themengebiete „Materials and Emerging Technologies“ sowie „Structure and Dynamics of Matter“ umfassen.