deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

European Network Strengthens Entrepreneurship Education

Universities from Barcelona to Lisbon, from Eindhoven to Torino are the partners of KIT in CLUSTER. Roundabout 30 representatives from the European network met at KIT at the End of October.
CLUSTER 2018

What has to be done to impart Entrepreneurship Knowledge to prospective engineers? That is a crucial point of the project „Entrepreneurship Education Ecosystems in Engineering and Technology“. Various CLUSTER universities take part in it, the EU supports it with money from the Erasmus+ program. In Karlsruhe, scientists presented good examples for Entrepreneurship education, among them Prof. Orestis Terzidis from KIT. Dr. Gautam Basu from Aalto University in Finland talked about entrepreneurial skills in working life, Dr. Andreas Bihlmaier from robodev GmbH reflected on University Entrepreneurship programs from the point of view of a Startup founder. Katrina Nordström from Aalto University explained ways of raising awareness of entrepreneurship in the STEM curricula, e.g. by distributing videos on good examples.

Prof. Thomas Hirth, Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs, welcomed the participants of the meeting, which included several workshops. In one of them, the Erasmus coordinators from the member universities discussed possibilities of closer cooperation, for example with regard to enhancing staff mobility within CLUSTER.

Digitization is another topic being on the minds of the CLUSTER universities. Prof. Gerd Gidion, Scientific Director at the center for Technology-enhanced Learning at KIT, presented projects and plans at KIT aiming at a data system integrating research, education, innovation, and human resources management, at common spaces for research and education, e.g. online classes dealing with laboratory work, and at cooperation with an open scientific community, e.g. with blended learning scenarios.

Luís Miguel Silveira from Instituto Superior Técnico in Lisbon presented impressions from the 9th workshop of the Sino-European Engineering Education Platform (SEEEP), which had taken place in China at the end of September. He also explained the Cofund proposal to the EU by several CLUSTER members describing a Sino-European doctoral program.

The next regular CLUSTER meeting will take place on April 10th-12th, 2019, at Lisbon. In 2020, CLUSTER will celebrate its 30th birthday with a symposium at TU Darmstadt (TUD). Prof. Hans Jürgen Prömel from TUD is the current CLUSTER president.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Europäisches Netzwerk fördert Entrepreneurship in der Lehre

Mit Universitäten von Barcelona bis Lissabon, von Eindhoven bis Turin arbeitet das KIT in CLUSTER zusammen. Rund 30 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter des europäischen Verbunds trafen sich Ende Oktober am KIT.
CLUSTER 2018

Was braucht es, um angehenden Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren unternehmerisches Wissen nahezubringen? Das ist ein zentraler Aspekt des Projekts „Entrepreneurship Education Ecosystems in Engineering and Technology“, an dem mehrere CLUSTER-Universitäten beteiligt sind und das aus Mitteln des EU-Programms Erasmus+ gefördert wird. In Karlsruhe stellten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler gute Beispiele der Integration von Entrepreneurship ins Studium, unter ihnen Professor Dr. Orestis Terzidis vom KIT. Dr. Gautam Basu von der Aalto University in Finnland sprach über unternehmerische Fähigkeiten im Arbeitsleben, Dr. Andreas Bihlmaier von der robodev GmbH schilderte die Sicht eines Startup-Gründers auf Entrepreneurship-Programme von Universitäten. Katrina Nordström von der Aalto University erläuterte, wie es stärker ins öffentliche Bewusstsein rücken kann, das Entrepreneurship ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Curricula in den technik- und Naturwissenschaften ist, zum Beispiel mit der Verbreitung von Videos über gute Beispiele.

Professor Dr. Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Innovation und Internationales, begrüßte die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Treffens, zu dem eine Reihe von Workshops gehörten. So loteten die Koordinatorinnen und Koordinatoren der Erasmus-Programme an den Mitgliedsuniversitäten Möglichkeiten einer engeren Zusammenarbeit aus, etwa wenn es darum geht, Beschäftigten in der Verwaltung Auslandsaufenthalte zu ermöglichen. 

Digitalisierung ist ein weiteres Thema, das die CLUSTER-Universitäten umtreibt. Professor Dr. Gerd Gidion, wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Zentrums für Mediales Lernen (ZML) am KIT, stellte Projekte und Pläne am KIT vor für ein Datensystem, das Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Personalmanagement integriert, für gemeinsame Räume für Forschung und Lehre, zum Beispiel Onlinekurse zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit im Labor, und für die Zusammenarbeit in einer offenen wissenschaftlichen Communitiy, etwa in Blended learning-Szenarien.

Luís Miguel Silveira vom Instituto Superior Técnico in Lissabon präsentierte Impressionen vom neunten Workshop der Sino-European Engineering Education Platform (SEEEP). Er hatte Ende September in China stattgefunden. Silveira erläuterte außerdem einen Antrag mehrerer CLUSTER- und chinesischer Universitäten auf EU-Mittel für ein gemeinsames Doktorandinnen- und Doktorandenprogramm.

Das nächste reguläre CLUSTER-Treffen ist für 10. bis 12. April in Lissabon vorgesehen. 2020 feiert das europäische Netzwerk seinen 30. Geburtstag mit einem Symposium an der TU Darmstadt, die derzeit mit Professor Dr. Hans Jürgen Prömel den CLUSTER-Präsidenten stellt.