deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

KIT Builds Relationships with Silicon Valley

Kick-off for new platform with event in San Francisco

With the KIT Link platform, KIT intends to further expand its good relationships with universities, companies and alumni in Silicon Valley. It kicked off in mid-September at an event in the San Francisco Bay Area.

The event was part of the program of a delegation trip to the United States and to Canada, led by the Prime Minister of Baden-Württemberg, Winfried Kretschmann, and accompanied, among others, by Theresia Bauer, Minister of Science.

Minister President Winfried Kretschmann commented on the launch of KIT Link: "KIT is making a decisive contribution to making Baden-Württemberg the most research-intensive location for artificial intelligence in Germany today. Curiosity, inspiration and not least the clever networking of digital companies have created an extraordinary scientific institution that we are justifiably proud of. Therefore, I am particularly pleased to be present at the kick-off of the KIT Zeitgeist events and to accompany this unique platform for knowledge transfer and networking, which brings Silicon Valley and Baden-Württemberg even closer together."

Science Minister Theresia Bauer: "The new KIT Link platform will cultivate existing relationships with Silicon Valley and activate new ones through a presence of KIT in Silicon Valley. Students, researchers, start-ups and established companies alike are addressed. I am confident that this will strengthen the visibility of the research location. "

"The aim of KIT Link is to facilitate knowledge transfer in both directions through intensive exchange. Thus, the platform can be a valuable source of inspiration for society and economy in Baden-Württemberg and Silicon Valley. Ideally, we will build partnerships to solve global issues of the future," KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka said.

"KIT Link stands for knowledge sharing and communication via heads," said Professor Thomas Hirth, Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs at KIT. "The alumni of KIT in Silicon Valley can make an important contribution with their CVs and their experiences." The networking should facilitate direct access to current knowledge, innovative processes and working methods for partners on both sides. Concrete cooperation between industry and science will be initiated and students of KIT will have more opportunities for internships. The platform is located virtually at the company SAP, a strategic partner of KIT, which has a strong foothold in Silicon Valley.

The first Zeitgeist event marked the beginning of a lively exchange with decision-makers and partners in civil society, politics, business, culture and science in Silicon Valley: Cyriac Roeding and Guido Appenzeller talked about "Enterprising for a Better Globe: Silicon Valley Insights - Trends and Developments rangíng AI to health." The two alumni of KIT, successful entrepreneurs in the Silicon Valley, discussed with the representatives of the delegation as well as graduates of KIT living in the USA.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

KIT baut Beziehungen ins Silicon Valley aus

Auftakt für neue Plattform mit Veranstaltung in San Francisco

Mit der Plattform KIT Link will das KIT seine guten Beziehungen zu Universitäten, Unternehmen und Alumni im Silicon Valley weiter ausbauen. Der Startschuss fiel am Mitte September bei einer Veranstaltung in der San Francisco Bay Area.

Die Veranstaltung war Teil des Programms einer Delegationsreise in die USA und nach Kanada, die der baden-württembergische Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann anführte und bei der ihn unter anderem Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer begleitete.

Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann sagte zum Start von KIT Link: „Das KIT trägt entscheidend dazu bei, dass Baden-Württemberg bereits heute der forschungsstärkste Standort für Künstliche Intelligenz in Deutschland ist. Durch Neugierde, Inspiration und nicht zuletzt die kluge Vernetzung von Digitalunternehmen ist damit eine außergewöhnliche Wissenschaftseinrichtung entstanden, auf die wir zu Recht stolz sind. Ich freue mich deshalb besonders, beim Auftakt der KIT Zeitgeist Events dabei zu sein und diese einzigartige Plattform für Wissenstransfer und Vernetzung zu begleiten, die Silicon Valley und Baden-Württemberg noch näher zusammenbringt.“

Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer: „Die neue Plattform KIT-Link wird zukünftig durch eine Präsenz des KIT im Silicon Valley bestehende Beziehungen ins Silicon Valley pflegen und neue aktivieren. Dabei werden Studierende, Forschende, Start-ups und etablierte Unternehmen gleichermaßen angesprochen. Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass das die Sichtbarkeit des Forschungsstandortes stärken wird.“  

„Ziel von KIT Link ist es, über den intensiven Austausch einen Wissenstransfer in beide Richtungen zu ermöglichen. So kann die Plattform für Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft in Baden-Württemberg und im Silicon Valley ein wertvoller Impulsgeber sein. Im Idealfall bilden wir auf diesem Weg Partnerschaften zur Lösung globaler Zukunftsfragen“, sagte der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka.  

„KIT Link steht für Wissensaustausch und Kommunikation über Köpfe“, erklärte Professor Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Innovation und Internationales am KIT. „Die Alumni des KIT im Silicon Valley können dazu mit ihren Lebensläufen und ihren Erfahrungen einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten.“ Die Vernetzung soll den Partnern auf beiden Seiten den unmittelbaren Zugang zu aktuellem Wissen, innovativen Prozessen und Arbeitsmethoden erleichtern. Vorgesehen ist zudem, dass konkrete Kooperationen zwischen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft angestoßen werden und Studierende des KIT mehr Gelegenheiten für Praktika bekommen. Virtuell verortet ist die Plattform bei dem Unternehmen SAP, einem strategischen Partner des KIT, der ein starkes Standbein im Silicon Valley hat.  

Den Auftakt für einen lebendigen Austausch mit Entscheidungsträgern und Partnern in Zivilgesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Wissenschaft im Silicon Valley bildete der erste Zeitgeist-Event: Cyriac Roeding and Guido Appenzeller sprachen über „Enterprising for a Better Globe: Silicon Valley Insights – Trends and Developments ranging AI to health”. Die beiden Alumni des KIT und erfolgreichen Unternehmer im Silicon Valley diskutierten mit den Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Delegation sowie in den USA lebenden Absolventinnen und Absolventen des KIT.