deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

CESAER Universities for Easy Ways Abroad

CESAER 2018

The future of science and technology was discussed by around 50 universities in the European science network CESAER at their annual meeting in October in Bucharest. KIT is a member of the Association, President Holger Hanselka is a member of the Board of Directors.

In workshops and lectures, the approximately 200 participants from 25 countries highlighted aspects such as the career paths of young academics or the opportunities for universities to use their research infrastructures to promote talent.

A major topic was greater effort and new ideas to make more students spend time abroad. An important step, many participants agreed, is the more uniform and transparent recognition of study achievements abroad. The proposal to make mobility as flexible as possible for the students, among other things by allowing very short stays to gain access to experience abroad, also met with great approval. Practical implementation was part of the program: several universities, including the KIT, presented their courses to students of the Technical University of Bucharest in talks and with informational materials.

The member universities also dealt with the fact that from 2019, the European Union will support the creation of European universities with 30 million euros. Existing models for close cooperation between universities also came into focus. Dr. Klaus Rümmele, Head of the International Communication Department in the International Affairs Service Unit at KIT, presented the structure and plans of EUCOR - The European Campus, the association of Upper Rhine universities.

At their general assembly, CESAER universities decided to increase their annual membership fees to 12,000 euros. Among other things, this should help to finance the work of the office in Leuven and to strengthen the workload and the effectiveness of the various working groups in the network.

The annual meeting took place at the Politehnica University in Bucharest (UPB), which celebrates its 200th anniversary in 2018.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

CESAER-Universitäten für einfache Wege ins Ausland

CESAER 2018

Die Zukunft von Wissenschaft und Technologie haben die rund 50 Universitäten im europäischen Wissenschaftsnetzwerk CESAER bei ihrem Jahrestreffen im Oktober in Bukarest diskutiert. Das KIT ist Mitglied des Verbundes, Präsident Holger Hanselka gehört dem Board of Directors an.

In Workshops und Vorträgen beleuchteten die etwa 200 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus 25 Ländern Aspekte wie Karrierewege junger Akademikerinnen und Akademiker oder die Chancen für Universitäten, ihre Forschungsinfrastrukturen auch zu nutzen, um Talente zu fördern.

Ein zentrales Thema waren größere Anstrengungen und neue Ideen, um mehr Studierenden Auslandsaufenthalte schmackhaft zu machen. Ein wichtiger Schritt, darin waren sich viele Teilnehmende einig, ist die einheitlichere und transparentere Anerkennung von im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen. Große Zustimmung fand auch der Vorschlag, die Mobilität für die Studierenden möglichst flexibel zu gestalten, unter anderem indem zum Einstieg in die Auslandserfahrung sehr kurze Aufenthalte möglich sind. Die praktische Umsetzung war Teil des Programms: Mehrere Universitäten, unter ihnen das KIT, stellten Studierenden der Technischen Universität Bukarest in Gesprächen und mit Informationsmaterialien ihr Studienangebot vor.

Die Mitgliedsuniversitäten befassten sich auch damit, dass die Europäische Union von 2019 an die Entstehung Europäischer Universitäten mit 30 Millionen Euro fördert. Dabei nahmen auch bereits existierende Modelle für eine enge Zusammenarbeit von Universitäten in den Blick. So stellte Dr. Klaus Rümmele, Leiter der Abteilung Internationale Kommunikation in der Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales am KIT, Struktur und Pläne von EUCOR – The European Campus vor, dem Verbund oberrheinischer Universitäten.

Bei ihrer Generalversammlung beschlossen die CESAER-Universitäten eine Erhöhung der jährlichen Mitgliedsgebühren auf 12.000 Euro. Dies soll unter anderem dabei helfen, die Arbeit der Geschäftsstelle in Leuven zu finanzieren sowie das Pensum und die Schlagkraft der verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen im Netzwerk zu stärken.

Das Jahrestreffen fand an der Universität Politehnica in Bukarest (UPB) statt, die 2018 ihr 200jähriges Bestehen feiert.