deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

"Gospel Gives Strength and Joy"

KIT employee Robert Schmitt will be singing at the International Gospel Church Day
FetzDomino

Robert Schmitt works in the Facility Management service unit at KIT. And he loves singing - since 2006 he has been part of the choir Fetz Domino. In 1997 he started singing in the choir - first as a tenor, then he dropped down to bass. Fetz Domino sings classical and modern gospel. From the 21st to the 23rd of September the choir will take part in the International Gospel Church Day in Karlsruhe. Eoin Schnell talked with Robert Schmitt.

How did you get into singing?

Robert Schmitt: I've loved music since childhood. I sang in children's choirs, then I took a break. In 1979, when I moved out of my home, my interest in singing was rekindled. And since then I sing, it's fun and never gets old! Music is very important to me, it gives me a calm. Especially if you have a stressful day and then have a choir rehearsal in the evening - it's work, but in the end, you go home feeling elated!

What can choral music achieve what other forms of music can not?

Schmitt: For me, the special thing about gospel music is the clear message, the message that stands behind it and that's what we wish to convey. There is a strength to it. And a joy. You are encouraged and rejuvenated from the rehearsal.

Which styles of music do you enjoy listening to?

Schmitt: Mostly Rock, Pop, and Jazz. But I am also not averse to classical music which my parents listened too. Modern trends, on the other hand, are simply not my taste.

Which organizational tasks do you have in the choir?

Schmitt: I have been responsible for the technology board for five years, for example, the PA sound system. This includes being up-to-date, parts being rebuilt and repairs being made. I'm one of six singers organizing the events.

What challenges have you encountered in organizing the festival performance?

Schmitt: The choir has been around for 25 years, and always had its own technical team. The biggest challenge is to plan everything at a time that works for everyone. But if you plan properly, you can do it - of course only with a team. As a lone fighter, it would be impossible!

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

„Gospel gibt Kraft und Freude“

KIT-Mitarbeiter Robert Schmitt singt beim Internationalen Gospelkirchentag mit
FetzDomino

Robert Schmitt arbeitet in der Dienstleistungseinheit Facility Management am KIT. Und er liebt das Singen – seit 2006 wirkt er im Chor Fetz Domino mit. 1997 hat er angefangen, im Chor zu singen, erst als Tenor, dann ist er auf Bass umgestiegen. Fetz Domino singt klassischen und modernen Gospel. Vom 21. bis 23. September nimmt der Chor am Internationalen Gospelkirchentag in Karlsruhe teil. Eoin Schnell hat mit Robert Schmitt gesprochen.

Wie sind Sie aufs Singen gekommen?

Robert Schmitt: Ich liebe Musik schon seit Kindes Beinen. Ich habe  in Kinderchören gesungen, danach habe ich eine Pause eingelegt. 1979, als ich von zuhause ausgezogen bin, galt  mein Interesse wieder dem Singen. Und seitdem singe ich, es macht Spaß und wird nicht langweilig! Musik ist mir sehr wichtig, sie bringt mir Entspannung. Vor allem wenn man einen stressigen Tag hat und dann am Abend noch eine Chorprobe hat – es ist Arbeit, aber am Ende gehst du doch froh nach Hause!

Was kann Chormusik erreichen, was andere Musikformen nicht können?

Schmitt: Das Besondere gerade an Gospelmusik ist für mich die klare Botschaft, die Message, die dahinter steht und die wir vermitteln wollen. Sie gibt Kraft. Und Freude. Man geht  ermutigt und erholt aus der Probe heraus.

Welche Musikrichtungen hören Sie gerne?

Schmitt: Am liebsten Rock, Pop und Jazz. Aber auch Klassik gegenüber, die mir meine Eltern nahegebracht haben, bin ich nicht abgeneigt. Moderne Richtungen dagegen liegen mir einfach nicht. 

Welche organisatorischen Aufgaben haben Sie im Chor?

Schmitt: Ich bin seit fünf Jahren im Vorstand für Technik verantwortlich, zum Beispiel das PA-Soundsystem. Dazu gehört, dass alles Up-to-date ist, Teile nachgekauft werden und Reparaturen stattfinden. Ich bin einer von sechs Sängern, die die Veranstaltungen organisieren.

Welchen Herausforderungen sind Sie begegnet bei der Organisation des Auftritts beim Festival?

Schmitt: Seit 25 Jahren gibt es den Chor, er hatte schon immer ein eigenes Technikteam. Die größte Herausforderung ist, alles rechtzeitig aufzubauen. Aber wenn man richtig plant, kriegt man das schon hin – natürlich nur im Team. Als Einzelkämpfer kann man das nicht schaffen!