deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Cooperate Internationally and Help Refugees

Work Shadowing Seminar

Daniela von Rüden, Coordinator for the Integration of Refugees at KIT, organized a Work Shadowing Seminar in mid-May. Colleagues from the Swedish aid organization "The Educators International" and the Dutch "No Limits" as well as a representative of Diakonisches Werk in Karlsruhe attended the seminar.

The guests learned about KIT's approaches to giving refugees the opportunity to integrate into their studies and daily life in Germany. Among other things, the guests experienced the course of consultation for persons with a refugee background, with KIT staff and student assistants answering questions about studying and living in Karlsruhe. "For the most part, these are international students with a migration background from the main regions of origin of the refugees. This creates a relationship of trust faster, language barriers can be met," von Rüden said.

Work Shadowing is an innovative method of professional self-development in which colleagues from different companies or organizations in the same industry observe each other in their daily work and thus gain new insights.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

International kooperieren und Geflüchteten helfen

Work Shadowing Seminar

Daniela von Rüden, Koordinatorin für die Integration von Geflüchteten am KIT, hat Mitte Mai ein Work Shadowing Seminar veranstaltet. Kollegen der schwedischen Hilfsorganisation „The Educators International“ und der niederländischen „No Limits“ sowie eine Vertreterin des Diakonischen Werks in Karlsruhe besuchten das Seminar.

Die Gäste erfuhren, welche Ansätze das KIT benutzt, um den Geflüchteten die Möglichkeit zu geben, sich in das Studium und das tägliche Leben in Deutschland zu integrieren. Unter anderem erlebten die Gäste den Verlauf der Sprechstunde für Personen mit Fluchthintergrund, wo Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des KIT sowie studentische Hilfskräfte Fragen zum Studium und Wohnen in Karlsruhe beantworten. „Das sind zum Großteil internationale Studierende mit Migrationshintergrund aus den Haupt-Herkunftsregionen der Geflüchteten. Dadurch entsteht schneller ein Vertrauensverhältnis, sprachlichen Hindernissen kann begegnet werden“, so von Rüden. 

Work Shadowing ist eine innovative Methode der professionellen Selbstentwicklung, bei der Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus unterschiedlichen Unternehmen oder Organisationen derselben Branche sich gegenseitig bei der täglichen Arbeit beobachten und dadurch neue Einsichten bekommen.