deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT
About the Chile Cluster

Article of the Chilean Embassy:

About
Karin Walter

Previously to the Research Alumni conference, KIT Alumni from Chile met for a regular's table. One of them was Dr. Karin Walter.

Interview

Research-Alumni KIT App

Install this app and keep in touch with KIT and receive information about:
- Research Alumni Activities
- Job Market
- News
- KIT at a Glance
- KIT Campus Map
- Event Calendar
- Contact information

          

How to use the new Research-Alumni KIT App


Meeting in Chile: Researcher Alumni Discuss Use of Renewable Energies

Networking and exchange with former researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technolo-gy (KIT) were in the focus of the Researcher Alumni Conference on Renewable Ener-gies organized in Santiago de Chile in November 2018 by the International Scholars and Welcome Office (IScO) of the International Affairs Business Unit (INTL) and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH).

KIT Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs, Professor Dr. Thomas Hirth, un-derscored the important role of researcher alumni in future university collaborations and the recruitment of early-stage researchers: “We highly appreciate your roles as multipliers and ambassadors.” Hirth emphasized KIT’s long-standing researcher alumni activities that made KIT win a second grant of the AvH.

In his scientific opening speech, Professor Dr. Andreas Braun of KIT’s Institute of Regional Science (IfR), spokesperson of the Chile Cluster of KIT, introduced the Virtual Institute for Eco-Industrial Development (IEDE).

Professor Dr. Thomas Kohl of KIT’s Institute of Applied Geosciences (AGW) then presented a panel discussion on “Renewable Energies – a German-Chilean Cooperation and Challenge for the Future.” The invited experts extensively discussed existing partnerships and future cooperation potentials.

Then, representatives of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), AvH, and the German Center for Research and Innovation (DWIH) provided information on funding options for internationally mobile researchers.

A large part of the program covered workshops on “Renewable Energies” led by professors of KIT. Here, researcher alumni were provided practical insight into the current research ac-tivities of their German colleagues. A visit to the Fraunhofer Center for Systems Biotechnolo-gy as an example of close scientific collaboration of Germany and Chile served to inform the participants about research activities there.

At the evening reception of the conference participants in the German Embassy, Ambassa-dor Rolf Schulze emphasized the importance of the researcher alumni meeting in Chile: “It is part of the impressing network of KIT and reflects the strength and variety of German-Chilean science collaboration.” In spring 2019, Ambassador Schulze plans to visit KIT.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT
Zum Chile Cluster

Beitrag der chilenischen Botschaft:

Zur Person
Karin Walter

Im Vorfeld der Forscher-Alumni-Konferenz trafen sich Ehemalige des KIT aus Chile zu einem Stammtisch. Unter ihnen war auch Dr. Karin Walter.

Interview

Research-Alumni KIT App

Install this app and keep in touch with KIT and receive information about:
- Research Alumni Activities
- Job Market
- News
- KIT at a Glance
- KIT Campus Map
- Event Calendar
- Contact information

          

How to use the new Research-Alumni KIT App


Treffen in Chile: Forscher-Alumni diskutieren über Erneuerbare Energien

Die Vernetzung und der Austausch mit ehemaligen Forschenden des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) standen im Mittelpunkt der Forscher-Alumni-Konferenz zum Thema Erneuerbare Energien in Santiago de Chile im November 2018. Das International Scholars and Welcome Office (IScO) der Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales (INTL) und die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung (AvH) hatten zu der Veranstaltung eingeladen.

Der Vizepräsident für Innovation und Internationales, Professor Dr. Thomas Hirth, unterstrich die wichtige Rolle der Forscher-Alumni für zukünftige Hochschulkooperationen sowie für die Gewinnung von Nachwuchsforschenden: „Wir schätzen Sie als Multiplikatoren und Botschafter.“ Besonders hob er die langjährige Forscher-Alumni-Arbeit am KIT hervor, die dazu führte, dass das KIT bereits zum zweiten Mal von der AvH ausgezeichnet wurde.

Im Eröffnungsvortrag stellte Professor Dr. Andreas Braun vom Institut für Regionalwissenschaft (IfR), der Sprecher des Chile Cluster am KIT, das Virtual Institute for Eco-Industrial Development (IEDE) vor. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung finanziert es.

Professor Dr. Thomas Kohl vom Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaft (AGW) moderierte  eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema „Erneuerbare Energien – eine deutsch-chilenische Kooperation und Herausforderung für die Zukunft“. Dabei tauschten sich ausgewiesene Experten über bestehende Partnerschaften sowie zukünftige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten aus.

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD), die AvH und das Deutsche Wissenschafts- und Innovationshaus (DWIH) informierten in Vorträgen zu Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für international mobile Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler.

Professoren des KIT leiteten  Workshops zum Thema „Erneuerbare Energien“. Dabei sammelten die Forscher-Alumni praktische Einblicke in die aktuelle Forschung.

Bei einem Besuch des Fraunhofer Center for Systems Biotechnology, einem Beispiel für die enge wissenschaftliche Kooperation zwischen Deutschland und Chile, erhielten die Teilnehmer Einblicke in die dort durchgeführte aktuelle Forschung.

Der deutsche Botschafter Rolf Schulze unterstrich in seiner Rede bei einem Empfang in seiner Residenz die Bedeutung des Forscher-Alumni-Treffens in Chile: „Es ist Teil des beeindruckenden Netzwerks des KIT sowie ein Zeichen für die Stärke und Vielfalt der deutsch-chilenischen Wissenschaftskooperationen.“ Für den Februar 2019 plant Botschafter Schulze einen Besuch am KIT.