deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

A German-Chinese Book on Realistic Telling

Joint Research Center for German Language and Culture in Beijing

A new publication by the Joint Research Center for German Language and Culture in Beijing investigates the correlation between “Reality and Foreignness in Narrative Texts of German Realism.” The book documents the results of a 2016 meeting of Chinese and German specialists in German studies in Beijing. This literary-history meeting was hosted by the German Language Division of the Beijing Institute of Technology (BIT) and the Institute for German Studies: Literature, Language, Media at KIT.

In 2010, the editors, Aihong Jiang, Vice Director of the School of Foreign Languages at BIT, and Uwe Japp, Professor Emeritus at the Institute for German Studies at KIT, had initiated the foundation of the Joint Research Center which, among others, fosters the exchange of lecturers and students. Another meeting that will focus on contemporary literature is scheduled for the near future.

The contributions to the present book analyze how “reality and foreignness” are conceived, among others, in the works of Friedrich Hebbel, Gottfried Keller, and Theodor Storm. Methodically, the contributions represent a wide spectrum of hermeneutic, sociohistorical, and narratological approaches. The proceedings also consider the results of alterity and gender research. “In various parts, the texts point out relationships to topical issues of migration,” says Uwe Japp.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Deutsch-chinesisches Buch über das realistische Erzählen

Joint Research Center for German Language and Culture in Beijing

Eine neue Veröffentlichung des Joint Research Center for German Language and Culture in Bejing untersucht den Zusammenhang von „Wirklichkeit und Fremdheit in Erzähltexten des deutschen Realismus“. Das Buch dokumentiert die Resultate einer Tagung 2016 in Beijing, an der chinesische und deutsche Germanistinnen und Germanisten beteiligt waren. Veranstalter der literaturhistorischen Tagung waren die deutsche Sprachabteilung des Bejing Institute of Technology (BIT) und das Institut für Germanistik: Literatur, Sprache, Medien am KIT.

Herausgeber des Buchs sind Aihong Jiang, Vizedirektor der School of Foreign Languages am BIT, und Uwe Japp, Professor im Ruhestand am Institut für Germanistik am KIT. Sie hatten die Gründung des Joint Research Center im Jahre 2010 initiiert, zu dessen Aktivitäten unter anderem der Austausch von Dozierenden und Studierenden gehört. In Planung ist eine weitere Tagung, in deren Mittelpunkt Gegenwartsliteratur stehen soll.

Die Beiträge des aktuellen Buchs analysieren die Darstellung von „Wirklichkeit und Fremdheit“ unter anderem in Werken von Friedrich Hebbel, Gottfried Keller und Theodor Storm. Methodisch bilden die Beiträge ein weites Spektrum von hermeneutischen, sozialgeschichtlichen und narratologischen Ansätzen ab. Der Tagungsband berücksichtigt auch Ergebnisse der Alteritäts- und Genderforschung. „Die Beiträge zeigen an verschiedenen Stellen Bezüge zu aktuellen Fragen der Migration auf“, sagt Uwe Japp.