deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Ambassador of Benin visiting KIT

Ambassador of Benin visiting KIT
Prof. Joachim Knebel presenting KIT
Prof. Joachim Knebel presenting KIT

During a journey through Baden-Württemberg, Josselin da Silva Gbony, Ambassador of the Republic of Benin, visited KIT. With Professor Joachim Knebel, Head of Division III - Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, she spoke about the idea of ​​joint projects and a partnership.

West Africa, Josselin da Silva Gbony said, is investing in innovation and research on climate change, land use and energy. At the initiative of the President of Benin, innovation centers are to be set up in the Republic in order to build long-term scientific capacities to deal with climate change and the impacts on land use in West Africa. In 2016, the Institute Supérieur des Sciences et Techniques du Bénin (ISST-BENIN) was founded. According to the ambassador, the institute aims at the role of a multinational training center for science and economics in West Africa. The focus should be on technical and vocational training. Against this background, the institute is currently seeking contacts with German universities.

During the interview, the Ambassador invited KIT representatives to an information visit to Benin. She also showed interest in further meetings with the scientists of KIT. Especially in the field of entrepreneurship and technology transfer, Benin wishes KIT to be a partner. The experience of KIT in technical and vocational training could also be of great benefit to Benin.

In addition to KIT, the Ambassador and Ludovic Dakossi (Communication and Technical Cooperation Department) visited industrial companies in the Karlsruhe area and met with Mayor Dr. Ing. Frank Mentrup to discuss cooperation between West Africa and the Karlsruhe Technology Region. Among other things, the trip was about exploring the possibilities for opening a consulate in Karlsruhe. At present, the Republic of Benin is represented by the Embassy in Berlin with two consulates in Munich and Saarbrücken in Germany.

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

Botschafterin des Benin zu Besuch am KIT

Botschafterin des Benin zu Besuch am KIT
Prof. Joachim Knebel stellt das KIT vor
Prof. Joachim Knebel stellt das KIT vor

Im Laufe einer Reise durch Baden-Württemberg-Reise hat Josselin da Silva Gbony, die Botschafterin der Republik Benin, das KIT besucht. Mit Professor Joachim Knebel, Leiter des Bereichs III – Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik, sprach sie über die Idee gemeinsamer Projekte und einer Partnerschaft.

Westafrika, so sagte Josselin da Silva Gbony, investiere in Innovation und Forschung zu Klimawandel, Landnutzung, Energie. Auf Initiative des Präsidenten von Benin sollen in der Republik Innovationszentren entstehen, um langfristig wissenschaftliche Kapazitäten zum Klimawandel und zum Umgang mit den Auswirkungen auf die Landnutzung in Westafrika aufzubauen. 2016 wurde das Institut Supérieur des Sciences et Techniques du Bénin (ISST-BENIN) gegründet. Nach Angaben der Botschafterin strebt das Institut die Rolle eines multinationalen Ausbildungszentrums für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft in Westafrika an. Der Schwerpunkt solle dabei auf der technischen und beruflichen Ausbildung liegen. Vor diesem HIntergrund sucht das Institut momentan Kontakte zu deutschen Universitäten.

Bei dem Gespräch lud die Botschafterin Vertreter des KIT zu einer Informationsreise nach Benin ein. Sie zeigte zudem Interesse an weiteren Treffen mit den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des KIT. Gerade auf dem Gebiet Entrepreneurship und Technologietransfer wünsche sich der Benin das KIT als Partner, so Josselin da Silva Gbony. Auch die Erfahrung des KIT in der technischen und beruflichen Ausbildung könnte für den Benin von großem Nutzen sein. 

Neben dem KIT besuchten die Botschafterin und Ludovic Dakossi (Abteilung Kommunikation und Technische Zusammenarbeit) Industrieunternehmen im Raum Karlsruhe und trafen Oberbürgermeister Dr. Frank Mentrup, um eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Westafrika und der Technologieregion Karlsruhe zu diskutieren. Bei der Reise ging es unter anderem auch darum, die Möglichkeiten für die Eröffnung eines Konsulates in Karlsruhe auszuloten. Zurzeit ist die Republik Benin neben der Botschaft in Berlin mit zwei Konsulaten in München und Saarbrücken in Deutschland vertreten.