deutsch  | Home | Legals | KIT
Esther Legant
International Marketing and Partnermanagement
+49 721 608-41913
esther legantYvo4∂kit edu

International Affairs
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Vincenz-Prießnitz-Straße 1
76131 Karlsruhe
Germany
 

Information and Impressions

Program

Alumni in Silicon Valley: Thomas Wolf

"Bridges into Silicon Valley": Interview with Professor Orestis Terzidis and Professor Volker Saile (lookKIT 4/2017, p. 68)

Connecting with success

At the end of September, KIT had invited alumni to a seminar in Silicon Valley. 25 former students of KIT followed the invitation.
Alumni im Silicon Valley
dschool
Neue Ideen: in der Stanford d.school von Larry Leifer.
Cupcakes
Beliebter Snack: Cupcakes mit KIT-Logo.

The alumni discussed with experts about entrepreneurship and innovation, visited companies and institutes, for example Linked-In, Larry Leifer's Stanford d.school and Stanford University. They met alumni working for companies in Silicon Valley. One of the highlights was an interview with alumni Cyriac Röding in the German consulate general in San Francisco.

The seminar aimed at refreshing the relations of KIT to his alumni in the US and connecting und the former students with each other. Furthermore, the seminar intended to install contact to local universities and companies that might lead to long-term cooperation. In addition, the seminar was the starting point for exploring ideas concerting the future appearance of KIT in Silicon Valley and further cooperation with alumni.

Esther Legant and Pascale Kohler from the International Affairs Busines Unit (INTL) had been in charge of planning and organizing the seminar.

Interview with Orestis Terzidis and Volker Saile

According to Professor Volker Saile, until 2015 Head of KIT’s Division V, Physics and Mathematics, and among the experts involved in the seminar discussions, the alumni know well that the KIT prepared them for their careers, and they thus wish for a “deeper relationship to KIT.”

Another expert at the seminar, Orestis Terzidis, Professor for Entrepreneurship and Technology Management at KIT, believes that “an enhanced networking with the creative environment in Silicon Valley” definitely makes sense. Closer links could, among others, introduce KIT students and researchers to the special way of thinking and working in Silicon Valley i.e., to “the very pleasant openness of first listening to an idea and then seeing what will happen with it.”

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT
Esther Legant
Internationales Marketing und Partnermanagement
+49 721 608-41913
esther legantZkp9∂kit edu

Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales
Internationale Kommunikation
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Adenauerring 4
76131 Karlsruhe

Campus Süd
Geb. 50.21

Infos und Impressionen

Programm

Absolventin im Silicon Valley: Maren Mögel

Absolvent im Silicon Valley: Thomas Wolf

"Brücke ins Silicon Valley": Professor Orestis Terzidis und Professor Volker Saile im Interview (lookKIT 4/2017, S. S. 66-70) 

Connecting with success

Ende September hatte das KIT zu einem Alumni-Seminar im Silicon Valley eingeladen – 25 Ehemalige kamen.
Alumni im Silicon Valley
dschool
Neue Ideen: in der Stanford d.school von Larry Leifer.
Cupcakes
Beliebter Snack: Cupcakes mit KIT-Logo.

Die Alumni tauschten sich mit Experten über Entrepreneurship und Innovation aus, besuchten Unternehmen wie Linked-In, die Stanford d.school von Larry Leifer und die Stanford University und kamen mit Absolventinnen und Absolventen ins Gespräch, die in Unternehmen im Silicon Valley tätig sind. Zu den Höhepunkten gehörte ein Interview mit Alumnus Cyriac Röding im Deutschen Generalkonsulat in San Francisco.

Ziel des Seminars war es, die Beziehungen des KIT zu seinen Alumni in den USA aufzufrischen und die Ehemaligen untereinander zu vernetzen. Weiter ging es um den Aufbau von Kontakten zu Universitäten und Unternehmen vor Ort, aus denen langfristig Kooperationen entstehen können. Zudem stellte das Seminar den Ausgangspunkt dar dafür, Ideen für den künftigen Auftritt des KIT im Silicon Valley und die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit den Alumni auszuloten.

Esther Legant und Pascale Kohler von der DE Internationales (INTL) hatten das Seminar federführend konzipiert und organisiert.

Orestis Terzidis und Volker Saile im Interview 

Die Alumni wünschten sich „eine tiefergehende Beziehung zum KIT“, sagt Professor Volker Saile, bis 2015 Leiter des Bereichs V – Physik und Mathematik am KIT, der zu den Experten gehörte, mit denen die Alumni ins Gespräch kamen. Eine große Rolle spiele dabei, so Saile, dass die Alumni wüssten, dass das KIT sie für ihre Karriere fitgemacht habe.

Orestis Terzidis, Professor für Entrepreneurship und Technologiemanagement am KIT und ebenfalls als Experte beim Seminar, hält „eine stärkere Vernetzung mit dem kreativen Umfeld im Silicon Valley“ für sinnvoll. Sie könnte es unter anderem ermöglichen, Studierenden, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des KIT die spezielle Denk- und Arbeitsweise im Silicon Valley näherzubringen: „die sehr angenehme Offenheit, sich eine Idee erst einmal anzuhören und zu sehen, was daraus werden könnte.“