deutsch  | Home | Legals | KIT

Guide for Starting a Career

Start your Career
 Gruppenbild Referentinnen und Referenten der Veranstaltung
Group picture: speakers of the event
Professor Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Internationales und Innovation am KIT
Professor Thomas Hirth, Vice President for International Affairs and Innovation at KIT
Alina Kneer, Head of Higher Education Team, Federal Employment Agency (BA Karlsruhe-Rastatt)
Alina Kneer, Head of Higher Education Team, Federal Employment Agency (BA Karlsruhe-Rastatt)
avinder Chugh, Daimler Buses/ EvoBus GmbH, Mercedes-Benz Werk Mannheim
Ravinder Chugh, Daimler Buses / EvoBus GmbH, Mercedes-Benz Mannheim

Start Your Career: Information event of KIT and the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion for students, doctoral researchers, and postdocs from abroad

In view of the general shortage of specialists, international graduates are of enormous importance to the German labor market. Options for starting careers in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) were presented to them by KIT and TRK at the event “Start Your Career in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion.” About 120 students, interns, and (young) scientists informed themselves about possibilities of work in Germany and associated organizational matters, such as visa applications and work permits. International alumni of KIT, who have worked in the TRK since their graduation, reported about their experience. “Studies at KIT are an excellent basis for a successful start of a career. It is our clear objective to provide young people with comprehensive and research-oriented education and to impart to them interdisciplinary competences,” said KIT Vice President for Innovation and International Affairs, Professor Thomas Hirth.

Short lectures highlighted the TRK as an attractive region for life and work. Several units of KIT informed about their offers and were ready to provide direct individual advice. Among them were the International Students Office, the Career and Alumni Service, Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists, the Personnel Development and Vocational Training Unit, Innovation and Relations Management, as well as the International Scholars and Welcome Office. The Karlsruhe-Rastatt Labor Agency introduced its services for supporting international students after graduation or the doctorate in finding a job and selecting the right profession. In addition, CyberForum e.V. and the Kontaktstelle Frau & Beruf (contact office woman and career) were represented.

The event was organized by the International Affairs Business Unit and the Career and Alumni Service of KIT in cooperation with the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion and the Karlsruhe-Rastatt Labor Agency. The event was funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts, the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Economic Affairs, Labor, and Housing, and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

Wegweiser für den Berufsstart

Start your Career
Gruppenbild Referentinnen und Referenten der Veranstaltung
Gruppenbild Referentinnen und Referenten der Veranstaltung
Professor Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Internationales und Innovation am KIT
Professor Thomas Hirth, Vizepräsident für Internationales und Innovation am KIT
Alina Kneer, Head of Higher Education Team, Federal Employment Agency (BA Karlsruhe-Rastatt)
Alina Kneer, Head of Higher Education Team, Federal Employment Agency (BA Karlsruhe-Rastatt)
avinder Chugh, Daimler Buses/ EvoBus GmbH, Mercedes-Benz Werk Mannheim
Ravinder Chugh, Daimler Buses/EvoBus GmbH, Mercedes-Benz Werk Mannheim

Start your Career: Veranstaltung des KIT und der TechnologieRegion informierte Studierende, Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden aus dem Ausland

Internationale Absolventinnen und Absolventen haben nicht zuletzt angesichts des Fachkräftemangels enorme Bedeutung für den deutschen Arbeitsmarkt. Welche Einstiegsmöglichkeiten die TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe (TRK) ihnen bietet, zeigten KIT und TRK bei der Veranstaltung „Start your Career in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion“: Rund 120 Studierende, Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten sowie (Nachwuchs-)Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler informierten sich über die Arbeitsmöglichkeiten in Deutschland sowie Organisatorisches wie Visumsanträge und Arbeitsgenehmigungen. Internationale Alumni des KIT, die seit Abschluss ihres Studiums in der TRK arbeiten, berichteten von ihren Erfahrungen. „Das Studium am KIT ist eine ausgezeichnete Grundlage für einen erfolgreichen Karrierestart. Unser klares Ziel ist es, junge Menschen umfassend und forschungsorientiert auszubilden und ihnen interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen zu vermitteln“, sagte der Vizepräsident des KIT für Innovation und Internationales, Professor Thomas Hirth.

In Kurzvorträgen präsentierte sich die TRK als attraktive Region zum Leben und Arbeiten. Über ihre Angebote informierten verschiedene Serviceeinrichtungen des KIT und standen für individuelle Beratungsgespräche zur Verfügung, darunter das International Students Office, der Career und Alumni Service, das Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists, Personalentwicklung und Berufliche Ausbildung, Innovations- und Relationsmanagement sowie das International Scholars and Welcome Office. Die Agentur für Arbeit Karlsruhe-Rastatt erläuterte in einem Vortrag, wie sie internationale Absolventinnen und Absolventen nach einem Abschluss oder einer Promotion bei Berufswahl und Jobsuche unterstützen kann. Ebenso vertreten waren das CyberForum e. V. sowie die Kontaktstelle Frau & Beruf.

Die Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales und der Career und Alumni Service des KIT organisierten die Veranstaltung in Zusammenarbeit mit der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe und der Agentur für Arbeit Karlsruhe-Rastatt. Gefördert wurde sie vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, vom Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Wohnungsbau Baden-Württemberg sowie dem Deutschen Akademischen Auslandsdienst (DAAD).