deutsch  | Home | Legals | KIT

China: KIT attractive for young researchers

Chinese junior scientists

The KIT is highly regarded among young Chinese scientists. This is confirmed by the response to the Helmholtz OCPC Program 2017-2021, which aims to involve Chinese postdoctoral researchers in cooperation projects. The KIT, which offers five places, registered the highest number among the Helmholtz centers with eleven applications.

The program is open to Chinese postdoctoral students who did not graduate more than five years ago and who are working in a research institute or a university in China. With a scholarship they can research two years at a Helmholtz center. The centers of the Helmholtz Association contribute 1,500 euros per month, 1,700 euros come from the Office of China Postdoctoral Council (OCPC) of the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security (MoHRSS).

Four institutes of the KIT were involved in the call: the Institute for Functional Interfaces (IFG, Professor Dr. Christof Wöll, two applications), the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research - Atmospheric Environmental Research (IMK-IFU, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Dr. Benjamin Wolf, Dr. Ralf Kiese), the Institute for Microstructure Technology (IMT, Professor Dr. Manfred Kohl) and the Institute of Nanotechnology (INT, Professor Dr. Horst Hahn).

The institutes are expected to make their selection in July 2017. Postdoctoral researchers are expected to start working from February 2018 at the latest.

"The initiative of the institutes," says Dr. Annika Hampel, Head of the International Unit (INTL) at KIT, "is an important building block for the regional strategy of KIT in China". KIT wants to strengthen its commitment in China and to align it strategically. The project "Strategic Partnerships for Joint Innovations - KIT in the Jiangsu Province and the Shanghai Metropolitan Region" (StratP KIT - China), funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), plays a central role in this project, involving several institutes of KIT and INTL. In May, the stakeholders met for a milestone workshop to draw up an interim balance and discuss ways to continue the project beyond 2019 when the first funding phase ends. The Chinese partners are the Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Soochow University and Tongji University.

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

China: KIT attraktiv für Forschungsnachwuchs

Chinesischer Forschungsnachwuchs

Bei chinesischen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern steht das KIT hoch im Kurs. Das belegt die Resonanz auf das Helmholtz-OCPC-Programm 2017-2021, das chinesische Postdoktorandinnen und -doktoranden in Kooperationsprojekte einbinden will. Das KIT, das fünf Stellen anbietet, verzeichnete mit elf Bewerbungen die höchste Zahl unter den Helmholtz-Zentren.

Bei dem Programm können sich chinesische Postdoktorandinnen und -doktoranden bewerben, deren Promotion nicht länger als fünf Jahre zurückliegt und die in China an einem Forschungsinstitut oder einer Universität tätig sind. Mit einem Stipendium können sie zwei Jahre an einem Helmholtz-Zentrum forschen. Die Zentren der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft steuern dazu 1500 Euro monatlich bei, 1700 Euro kommen vom Office of China Postdoctoral Council (OCPC) des Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security (MoHRSS).

An der Ausschreibung haben sich vier Institute des KIT beteiligt: das Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG, Professor Dr. Christof Wöll, zwei Anträge), das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK-IFU, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Dr. Benjamin Wolf, Dr. Ralf Kiese), das Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT, Professor Dr. Manfred Kohl) und das Institut für Nanotechnologie (INT, Professor Dr. Horst Hahn).

Die Institute treffen ihre Auswahl voraussichtlich im Juli 2017. Die Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden sollen spätestens ab Februar 2018 ihre Arbeit aufnehmen.

„Die Initiative der Institute“, sagt Dr. Annika Hampel, Leiterin der Dienstleistungseinheit Internationales (INTL) am KIT, „ist ein wichtiger Baustein für die Regionalstrategie des KIT in China“. Das KIT wolle sein Engagement in China verstärken und strategisch ausrichten. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt dabei das vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) geförderte Projekt „Strategic Partnerships for Joint Innovations — KIT in the Jiangsu Province and  the Shanghai Metropolitan Region“ (StratP KIT – China), an dem mehrere Institute des KIT und INTL beteiligt sind. Im Mai trafen sich die Akteure zu einem Meilenstein-Workshop, um eine Zwischenbilanz zu ziehen und über Möglichkeiten zu diskutieren, das Projekt über 2019 hinaus, wenn die erste Förderphase endet, fortzusetzen. Die chinesischen Partner sind die Nanjing University of Science and Technology, die Shanghai Jiao Tong University, die Soochow University und die Tongji University.